question: preparing for the sabbath

Status
Not open for further replies.

jogri17

Puritan Board Junior
I'm new to the idea of the sabbath (recovering new covenanter). I agree that scripture commands it in the new covenant. How do I prepare for it and how do I keep it? and any book reccomendations are appreciated. merci

Keeping the sabbath is part of the fabric of your whole life. Seeing it as the highlight of your week means using your time wisely on the other six days to keep to a minimum the necessities that would detract from giving the whole day to God. Also, the worship done the other six days of the week will naturally spill over onto Sunday.

From a practical viewpoint, my kids are used to hearing me talk about specific sabbath preparations on Saturday -- having Sunday dinner mostly prepared (I have 101 make-ahead tricks if anyone is interested), having the little kids' clothes out (and BOTH shoes found ahead :banana:), and giving the house a final clean.

I think it is important too, to remember the "stranger that is within your gates," a reference, I believe, to the fact that we are not to make others work in support of our sabbath, even if their beliefs are different from our own ("strangers"). We don't go to places of business, get a newspaper delivered, etc.

Books on the subject? I'm not sure. The WCF gives a good overview.

ok but what about transportation. I don't have a car and I live in quebec city so I need to use a bus to get to church. The bus driver works on the sabbath and the only reformed church is about 15 + miles away (by bus it is 35 minutes). So what is the reformed consensus?

ok but what about transportation. I don't have a car and I live in quebec city so I need to use a bus to get to church. The bus driver works on the sabbath and the only reformed church is about 15 + miles away (by bus it is 35 minutes). So what is the reformed consensus?