Matthew 18,6 - Preseverance of the Saints?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zimon

Puritan Board Freshman
Hello,
First of all, i want to excuse my English for the case it might be weak, it's not my mother tongue.
I'm also new to Reformated theology so my question might be very stupid. I searched this Subforum and didn't found anything related to this, so I started this thread here.

Matthew 18,6
"But whoso shall offend one of these little ones which believe in me, it were better for him that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and [that] he were drowned in the depth of the sea."

For me that sounded like it would possible that a sheep can be mislead by someone else and renounce (At leastin the German version, It might sound a bit different in the KJ-translation) but that would contradict with the doctrine of the Preseverance. Or did Jesus just meant those who followed him but did not belong to the elects?
Greetings
Zimon

Chapter XVII
Of the Perseverance of the Saints
I. They, whom God has accepted in His Beloved, effectually called, and sanctified by His Spirit, can neither totally nor finally fall away from the state of grace, but shall certainly persevere therein to the end, and be eternally saved.[1]
II. This perseverance of the saints depends not upon their own free will, but upon the immutability of the decree of election, flowing from the free and unchangeable love of God the Father;[2] upon the efficacy of the merit and intercession of Jesus Christ,[3] the abiding of the Spirit, and of the seed of God within them,[4] and the nature of the covenant of grace:[5] from all which arises also the certainty and infallibility thereof.[6]