Graduate work

Status
Not open for further replies.

Claudiu

Puritan Board Junior
I'm a student at UC Berkeley right now. When I'm done with my studies here I plan on continuing my education and getting [-]an MDiv[/-] a Masters. I was wondering if a place like WTS or WSCal are good places to get [-]an MDiv[/-] a Masters (with plans to move on to Doctoral work)? Then, what about a Doctoral degree from a place like Oxford, Duke, Notre Dame, Princeton, Harvard, Yale, etc.? What I have in mind right now is something academia related so that's why I'm mentioning some well known places (what about places overseas?). I just want to know what some of the best options are for me. Any input will be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
I should of specified, I meant to say MDiv and then PhD in something related. I don't plan on continuing in Philosophy. I will edit my OP.

Be very careful with Notre Dame and Yale if you plan anything religious based. Notre Dame is a Catholic school, Yale is a very left-winged school. I looked into the latter pretty heavily for graduate level study. I can't speak for any of the other Ivy league schools. Duke is great if you're going after anything in the Humanities (as is UNC).

Also, be prepared to pay money...a lot of it. Every school you mentioned except Duke (possibly) will run no less than 20-30k per year.

The advice that was given to me about Ph.D.s is not to pay attention so much to the school as to the advisor you'll be working under.

If you have academic career aspirations, don't go to any PhD program that isn't:

1) funded

2) top-tier

3) uniquely suited to your interests

You can go to some evangelical seminary or a random university, but you'll pay a ton, get second-rate training, and have slim job prospects. I have an unaccredited MA, so I'm repeating my master's at Villanova University, with the intention of doing PhD work at Notre Dame or a British school.