Wondering what effect if any a publisher has on a translation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeclark71

Puritan Board Freshman
I have been using the NKJV since 2007 and like the translation. Recently a friend through discussion shared a concern about the future of the translation. I learned Harper Collins bought out Thomas Nelson and now owns the rights to the NKJV. He suggested this was not a good thing. My question is what are your thoughts concerning this issue and should this even be a concern?

In an ideal world, I would like Bibles to be free of ANY commercial interference. Quite apart from the debate over translation, the Trinitarian Bible Society will always have a soft spot in my heart.

However, capitalists will sell anything that will make a buck. As famed community organizer Saul Alinsky once boasted, "I feel confident that I could persuade a millionaire on a Friday to subsidize a revolution for Saturday out of which he would make a huge profit on Sunday even though he was certain to be executed on Monday."

I'm pretty sure that as long as Thomas Nelson turns a profit on the NKJV, it will continue to exist. If you are worried about a secular publisher changing it to be more "politically correct" form, don't waste your time. A popular "item" will continue to be sold by Nelson, rendering profits to its parent corp.

Thanks brother and I know the western world is all about capitalism. Saul Alinsky represents this as to well :) Still I do hold publishers like Cross Way in high regards for there defense of he faith.

Absolutely! Since the ESV is my standard Bible (not to mention the other GREAT books), I LOVE Crossway.

They are on the side of the angels on the theological side. However, as MANY posts on the PB indicate, their . . . "aggressive" marketing has raised hackles on the part of some who feel that it is not seemly to treat the Word of God like the latest dishwashing soap.