Two Questions Concerning Romanism

Status
Not open for further replies.

iacobus

Puritan Board Freshman
I was wondering, because I can't really wrap my mind around it and this has been bugging me because I want to have an answer if it comes up in the future.

1) How does an RC believe his good works are acceptable once he's infused with righteousness? Isn't the stain of sin still on those works? Perhaps this has something to do with their understanding of the atonement as rendering God propitious, and of course the infusion.

2) How does infusion even work? What is it based on?

I had a dialogue with and RC friend over the summer, and didn't really get any clear picture of what he believes.

I'm no expert, but I believe a very non-technical answer to your question is that they conflate justification and sanctification. You end up being justified, because sanctifying grace works to make you actually righteous. Once you are actually righteous, then you are acceptable to God. Most people don't achieve that in this lifetime, thus the need for purgatory. People who do achieve it in this lifetime become "Saints" who then intercede for the rest of us poor slobs.

I would argue the reasons that righteousness must be imputed and not infused beginning with the proof that Justification itself is and is used in the scripture as a forensic term in which nothing inherently changes in the substance of the believer, but his judicial standing does change.

I have met many RCs and they tend to differ amongst themselves on this point. So I have had to at the very least make the argument from sola scriptura first, because at some point many RCs that I have discussed the issue with begin to run to ‘extra biblical’ sources.

Laying out the forensic nature of Justification from the word alone has helped me in continuing the discussion with those holding erroneous views of the nature of Justification.

---------- Post added at 03:23 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:17 PM ----------