Should I Read Berkhof's Systematic or Brooks' Precious Remedies?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sevenzedek

Puritan Board Junior
I bought two very fine books some months ago and I have been struggling to know which one I should read first. What would you all recommend that I read first--Berkhof's Systematic Theology or Brooks' Precious Remedies?

I keep looking at my shelf at Berkhof's book because I feel like I am still new in the faith (6 years). Then I look over to Precious Remedies because I have been saved long enough to know that walking with God is a fight.

So, what say ye good fellows?

Berkhof is not the most interesting read. He is good, but he is a distillate of Bavinck. Since Bavinck is coming out in a one volume abridgment soon, you might want to wait for reviews of that.

Brooks's Precious Remedies is an amazing piece of work. I would read that. You will fall in love with Brooks. He has such wonderful one-liners that get at the real heart of the issue.

I um second or third Brooks.

I have started to read The Mute Christian Under The Smarting Rod, hard to read on a Kindle as a PDF though.

I um second or third Brooks.

I have started to read The Mute Christian Under The Smarting Rod, hard to read on a Kindle as a PDF though.

Jon, sorry to ask this on your thread. John please undesrtand I know little of Kindle, but can the device open and read PDFs, the regular format from Adobe? It opens normally, you can serach words, pass pages and so forth?

Jon, now on your question, you can read Berkhof's by picking areas of Dogmatics you think you should get to know better, yu don't maybe evne sg«'houldn't read all at once and

it is a book to go back as often as you need to check on some doctrine. Just for example: the Decree, and you read that part for now. :2cents: