Personal Views and Opinions or Orthodoxy?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Rich:

Thanks for starting this discussion. It's given something to think about. And that's just what I've been doing.

I know I had a bad experience with Presbyterianism. And it's probably because of that experience that I think usurping the pulpit for to propagate one's own opinions, ones not specifically forbidden but also not declared to be doctrine, is such a bad thing. On the other hand, I've had little bad experience with Baptist views. I've had a few, but nothing that really stands out.

I can appreciate that some people have come to their baptist views honestly. That is, though I don't think that the baptist view is honest, yet with the givens and backgrounds that are there, as opposed to the ones that I had to deal with in my life, I can see it from their point of view that it all makes sense to them. I can appreciate that they really do believe it to be what the Bible really teaches. I won't jump out at them for dishonesty, though I still think they're wrong.

On the other hand, I myself can see no excuse for men using the pulpits for their own soapboxes. They represent an office, not themselves. They have no business doing that. I'll be hard on them. I'm pretty sure I would have been whether or not I had had a bad experience with it. But all the same, my bad experiences are no excuse for not biting my tongue.

There are those who have had bad experiences with the Benny Hinns of this world, or with Arminianism or Dispensationalism. And some with Baptists. And some Baptists with Presbyterians. I guess that can also make us a bit testier on those subjects where we've had bad experiences. It's so easy to say, "Why don't you just stop it? It's all nonsense that you're saying; why don't you just stop it?" Or we can take the high road and tell them to repent. After all, we've got church authority behind us, we think.