no post

Status
Not open for further replies.

R. Scott Clark

Puritan Board Senior
Originally posted by James McGrail
Any opinions or thoughts on Ian Paisley? How 'refomed' is he?

The politics of Northern Ireland are very complicated -- much more so than American papers report. In Belfast, "Protestant" is certainly more a political term than theological.

My impression is that confessional Presbyterianism is actually quite weak there. Much of it is deeply influenced by broad evangelicalism or fundamentalism. Paisley is symbolic of the latter.

I have no personal direct experience with him, but my perception of him changed when I lived in the UK. I had some long conversations with the brother of the leader of the Alliance Party (that includes both Protestants and Roman Catholics) that influenced me.

Paisley thinks of himself as Reformed, but I suspect he's more fundamentalist than Reformed. I read what I think was an even-handed biography, but even there he came out rather "fundy." His primary contacts in the States has been with folks such as Bob Jones Univ., not exactly known for their devotion to the Reformed confessions.

In short, I think he's more a fundamentalist, loyalist, "culture warrior" than Reformed minister or theologian.

rsc

He yells too much!

I downloaded a bunch of sermons from him at Sermonaudio and was listening to them, but after maybe 5 or 6 of them, the yelling begins to grow very tiresome. Its just a bad habit he's gotten into in my opinion because he ends up yelling things that are not even material points and need no such emphasis.

Am I thinking of the right guy? I'm 99% sure it was Ian Paisley.

Originally posted by alwaysreforming
He yells too much!