Life at school

Status
Not open for further replies.

INsearch

Puritan Board Freshman
Hmmm so I am still a High School students and my group of friends I hang out with.... are well, we mainly talked about perverted stuff, uhhhh actually ALL the time, so now I am going off to school TOMORROW and I feel very... unprepared for it. Their are so many temptations! from talking like a rotten person, laughing at crude jokes, all the way to how girls dress nowadays.... How should I prepare for all this?

It's been 3 years since I graduated from high school and I know exactly what you mean. I don't think I was saved back then but I can relate with all the perverted talk, the ungodly topics of discussion, etc.

The first thing that comes to my mind in a situation like this is to cut off anything that causes you to sin. If it really is that bad, I would suggest finding a new group of friends, preferably a group of friends that love the Lord. I look back on my high school days and wish that I had done that.

Yes the cutting away friends part is going to be sooooooo hard if it really must come down to that :( I really hope it doesn't though.

Praise God for the new life that you have in Christ. God has begun a good work in you and he will complete it.
I can understand the difficulty that you will be in and the many temptations that you will face. You may well need to loosen friendships. You now serve a new master, your old self has died and you have been raised to new life in Christ. This does not mean that you will not be tempted or you will find it easy to live the Christian life.
You are called to be charitable, loving, give a good answer for the hope that you have and be salt and light to your family, friends and neighbors. Sounds easy doesn't it? :think: Well, no it isn't. But Christ abides in us, we are united to him and you are a precious child of God. This is a reality and is indeed a comfort to us in the battle.