Infant baptism v. Christening

Status
Not open for further replies.

chuckd

Puritan Board Junior
I'm new to Presbyterianism and learning a lot. I have a new born daughter and was wondering if there was a difference between baptism and christening. Or are they the same?

Also, are there any objections to dressing her in a gown and having a celebration with family and church members after her baptism?

I'm new to Presbyterianism and learning a lot. I have a new born daughter and was wondering if there was a difference between baptism and christening. Or are they the same?

Long ago, Calvin wrote a letter that, in passing, decried a Roman Catholic practice of anointing children's eyes with oil at baptism. He spoke of it as a superstitious addition to the simple and plain rite of baptism.

Nowadays, from what I understand, the RCs don't do that, but the word "christen" means "to annoint." I suspect that somewhere along the line "christen" became synonymous with "baptize," but it also has the connotation of naming a child at baptism. The idea is that the child has been identified as a Christian. I note that modern English dictionaries say that "christen" means "to make Christian."

Being somewhat old-fashioned and reactionary, I tend to think the word "christen" is not appropriate for the sacrament of Baptism, but it may just be a curmudgeon's objection.

I know Anglicans christen, or at least used to. I don't know about Presbyterians. In my Reformed Baptist circles, of course, it would never come up because presumably someone has a name long before they are baptized.

As for the gown and celebration, I leave that to my fellow Presbyterians.

There was a old, old time when the child was gowned regardless of its gender. I think you should dress your little girl up as you please.

Rejoicing is appropriate on happy occasions. But maybe you can just ask your church if they mind if you folks bring a bit of cake for everyone afterward.