How Long to Prepare for PCA Ordination Exams?

Status
Not open for further replies.

McPatrickClan

Puritan Board Freshman
Hi Guys- I am a first-year student at Redeemer Seminary. I have done well so far and earned all As & Bs (with the exception of my final semester of Greek :doh:). I am a good student who works hard at it & tries to do my best.

My ultimate hope is that I will be able to plant a PCA church. I realize that I must be ordained to make this happen. I am trying to plan for my ordination exams, hopefully in the North Texas Presbytery in 2012.

A few questions:

1) Do you suggest going for licensure (sp?) first?

2) How long is normal for a person to study for these exams?

3) Any other tips?

I'm in a bit of a time crunch (i.e. I cannot really study for a year or anything like that) only because I have three kids under six years old and a wife. Right now, we are robbing Peter to pay Paul to make it through seminary, so we have to make some headway as quickly as we can.

However, I am no quick study, so I have to be aware of that as I plan 2012 & beyond. Thanks for your help!

Our newest minister was just recently ordained and studied for six months after he graduated before taking his exams. I am not sure if this is normal or not, but it is what he did.

Hi Guys- I am a first-year student at Redeemer Seminary. I have done well so far and earned all As & Bs (with the exception of my final semester of Greek :doh:). I am a good student who works hard at it & tries to do my best.

My ultimate hope is that I will be able to plant a PCA church. I realize that I must be ordained to make this happen. I am trying to plan for my ordination exams, hopefully in the North Texas Presbytery in 2012.

A few questions:

1) Do you suggest going for licensure (sp?) first?

2) How long is normal for a person to study for these exams?

3) Any other tips?