Home stand by generators?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NaphtaliPress

Administrator
Staff member
Ok. One power failure too many. Anybody have any knowledge/experience with purchasing and installing a standby generator to run their house if the power fails (standby=always on; not talking about a portable honda unit here)? I've looked online but thought I'd tap into the knowledge base here. It will be very expensive but we have had over 60 days over 100 degrees here this summer and its a health concern for my mother and perhaps prudent given the greater frequency of losing power and other unknown threats in todays environment. I know i'll have to call an electrician to give an assessment of our needs but any advice here (possible problems or things to avoid) would be appreciated.

Ahh, something I know. Dont worry my brother this is what I do for a living. I must go now but I will post the info you need later.

Very good! Thanks Joe.
Originally posted by LAYMAN JOE
Ahh, something I know. Dont worry my brother this is what I do for a living. I must go now but I will post the info you need later.

Guardian generator systems are awesome. AKA Generac http://www.guardiangenerators.com/Default.aspx

From the web page you can see the different products and find a dealer close to you.

The system comes with an automatic transfer switch (ATS). Within 15 seconds it will transfer from normal to standby and when it senses normal power has returned, it transfers back. The generator itself can be fueled by natural gas or propane. It also does an automatic weekly start-up and system check.

Dealer costs for the 12kw with the ATS is $2550. Your local home depot is an authorized dealer of these gen sets and can set up Installation. They usually have one in stock for people to examine.

[Edited on 8-28-2006 by LAYMAN JOE]