Foreign language study

Status
Not open for further replies.

JasonGoodwin

Puritan Board Sophomore
Just curious about the different types of foreign languages we have studied (or are studying and are fluent in). I took 3 years of French in high school, at least two German classes, and now I'm trying to learn Finnish.

Studied Spanish for 6.5 years in high school and college. Would like to learn Italian and German though, wouldn't that be cool! :scholar:

I studied German for two years in high school and crammed the equivalent to 4 years of college french into 10 months when I was in France. I took a little introductory course in Greek and tried to learn spanish with my daughter. Ican read music; I've been told that's a foreign language, too!

FINNISH? Why Finnish?

Just curious about the different types of foreign languages we have studied (or are studying and are fluent in). I took 3 years of French in high school, at least two German classes, and now I'm trying to learn Finnish.
Are there any Finns you particularly want to talk to? I thought most of 'em speak English.

I took high school French and my facility with languages is such that when it was time for the final exam in my senior year, I was the only one in the classroom to actually have to take it. So long as one had a B, one could skip it.

I didn't, so there I was, listening to the cheers from my friends as they drove away from Nolan for the last time. Very depressing.

The only foreign language I'd really like to learn is, naturally enough, Russian. Would love to be able to converse with Dmitry and the boys in their native language (and be able to understand just what it is they're saying to each other).

I was Russian linguist in the U.S. Army, trained at the Defense Language Institute in Monterrey, CA 1972-1973. Greek and Hebrew in seminary. Learning Latin (slowly).