Bahsen or Whitefield?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Canadian _Shawn

Puritan Board Freshman
Hey all!

Just wondering if someone could recommend either Bahnsen Theological Seminary or Whitefield Theological Seminary to me. I'm currently pursuing more or less academic and secular degrees in theology and wouldn't mind doing some unnacredited studies on the side to bolster my orthodoxy.

In Him,
Shawn

Shawn,

I have a unique insight into this question. I am a former student of Bahnsen Theological Seminary (graduate studies in aplogetics) and am presently working on a Ph.D. at Whitefield.

Here is the way I see it. BTW, I'v asked myself the same question regarding recommending a seminary to someone. So, here goes:

The curriculum in the M.DIV. and M.A. in apologetics or philosophy prgrams at Bahnsen are top flight. The focus is on critical thinking, apologetics, philosophy, and historic Reformed theology (emphasis on Calvin's Institutes), and some history. Obviously there is a heavy emphasis of Bahnsen and Van Til. Mike Butler teaches the apologetics classes. The way it works is you listen to tapes, read articles and books, type summary reports of those, prepare a position paper, and take an open book test (this was the method for the M.A.). There are also two phone interviews with the professor. This gives you the opportunity to interact and he sees where you are in your studies through a phone tutorial. He asks questions, etc.