BTS or Whitefield?

Status
Not open for further replies.

natewood3

Puritan Board Freshman
I am currently a student at SBTS through the extension center in Jackson, TN. However, I have found that I the extension centers are mainly for pastors, and I plan to possibly pastor, but I (as of right now) am for sure going to teach at the graduate level. My wife is about a year and half away from finishing her degree, so I cannot move to Louisville until then.

I was considering completing a Master of Arts in Christian Studies with an emphasis on apologetics (as that is possibly what I want to teach after school). However, I plan to get my M.Div. in Biblical and Theological studies because of the emphasis of the Biblical Languages and on Theology (I must take over 30 hrs of Languages and Theology at Southern with this emphasis). I also like the idea of completing the degree at home. My question is which seminary would you recommend, especially in regard to apologetics? Are both of these schools accredited, since I will be pursuing other degrees (M.Div., probably M.Th. and Ph.D)? Would you suggest another course of action rather than taking distance education through one of these schools?

Any comments would be great.

I just saw this thread. Indeed, Paul Manata has attended BTS, and said it was great for the apologetics, but also said that, as many others are noting, it (along with Covenant Media Foundation and any of the ministries with which David Bahnsen is affiliated) is indeed starting to (and may be even more fully so by now) teach Federal Vision/Auburn Avenue theology. Thus, for that reason, I would certainly not recommend the seminary to anyone who happened to ask me about it - especially in light of the fact that presuppositional apologetics can be learned quite well through the many, many audio lectures Greg Bahnsen (and Michael Butler) has at http://www.cmfnow.com