A Christian Philosophy of Writing

Status
Not open for further replies.

amishrockstar

Puritan Board Freshman
There are a lot of philosophies on language and writing out there. I'm a budding English teacher and I've received much of my education from the hands of unbelievers and their ideas of how language, education, and writing ought to be done.

For the Christian, who starts with the presupposition that God exists and that language (communication) is a gift and a reflection of Trinitarian communication, what can be said about a Christian approach to writing?

How ought a Christian's worldview influence the way he/she writes? What challenge (on a presuppositional level) can a Christian pose to the unbelieving writer and linguist?

In other words, if a person rejects the Trinitarian concept of communication, and mankind's imperfect reflection of that communication, are they --the unbelievers-- able to live out their careers and lives as writers consistently (as Schaeffer might put it)?

Any thoughts?

How ought a Christian's worldview influence the way he/she writes?
It seems plain that the difference in Christian writing ought to be total and all the way down, but on a practival level.....
it's a question that vitally interests me too, but I don't know the answer.
Bring on the replies!!!

Read Augustine's dialogue, On The Teacher.

He provides the beginnings of a theory of language and an epistemology to support it.