When is the last time you led someone to Christ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reformed Christian

Puritan Board Freshman
I thought it would be more appropriate to post a new thread than to introduce this comment in the discussion on Calvinism and the gospel.

In my own personal experience I was a student at Tennessee Temple University (the home of Reformed theology - NOT) when I first began seeing the Doctrines of Grace. And for some time I was simply paralyzed when it came to evangelism. I was afraid of saying the wrong thing - or manipulating someone into coming to Jesus.

After some time, I must confess, the zeal I had for sharing my faith and evangelism weakened. Calvinism did not do this, but my own spiritual pride. What I find interesting is that typically when someone, usually an Arminian, charges Calvinists as being cold to evangelism we immediately jump to our "heros of the past." Examples:

"Charles Spurgeon was one of the greatest soul winners in the church."
"The SBC and their missions movement was founded by Calvinists."
"Edwards' Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God was preached by a Calvinist."
"George Whitefield preached the gospel to thousands in the open air"

But rarely do we hear, "Brother, why don't you come visit our Thursday evening outreach." Or, "Let me introduce you to Mike. He's my neighbor that I led to the Lord."

I'd love to hear your testimonials of how the Lord has used you!

I thought it would be more appropriate to post a new thread than to introduce this comment in the discussion on Calvinism and the gospel.

In my own personal experience I was a student at Tennessee Temple University (the home of Reformed theology - NOT) when I first began seeing the Doctrines of Grace. And for some time I was simply paralyzed when it came to evangelism. I was afraid of saying the wrong thing - or manipulating someone into coming to Jesus.