Hospital Baptism - A Dying Wish

Status
Not open for further replies.

APuritansMind

Puritan Board Junior
A friend of mine from high school, who attended a church other than mine, died two weeks ago from complications of diabetes. He was scheduled to be baptized (Southern Baptist congregation), but instead went into the hospital - never to leave (he was removed from dialysis on Wednesday, baptised on Thursday, and died on Friday). Please see his story:

Suffolk News-Herald | An unusual blessing in the birthing center

What do you think about his hospital baptism in front of friends and family?
Would sprinkling suffice (even for Baptists) in a case such as this?

How wonderful!

I am not a proponent of sprinkling baptism, so I cannot say if sprinkling would be acceptable. I am in almost tears when I read the story though. He wanted to obey the command, even that close to death. May all find that kind of dedication to God in all we do.

Mr. Myers,

If your friend was known by the Lord, he was saved.

I'm slightly confused by the article. It seems that he was immersed in water, or is that incorrect? And it seems the pastor was there. Is your question rhetorical? Or is it that the baptism was performed not in front of a church congregation?

The criminal on the cross whom Jesus said will be saved did not seemed to be baptized. We cannot say for certain, but it seems as though he came to faith very close to death. He had no ability to be baptized, nor immersed on the cross.

If a person comes to Christ and is hit by a truck before being baptized, does that prevent his salvation?

God commands us to be baptized, but it is not such a thing that can be unforgiven if the person is unable and thus preclude our salvation. There is only one unforgivable sin: blasphemy against the Holy Spirit. The absence of this outward work will not stop the Father from saving us.

What do you think about his hospital baptism in front of friends and family?
Wonderful.