French Bible(s)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Me Died Blue

Puritan Board Post-Graduate
Since I'm really committed to learning French at this point, and am already considering participating in an abroad Paris program for a few weeks this May, I thought, "What better a way to help myself learn French than to get a French Bible?" But, needless to say, I have absolutely no clue as to what types and translations of French Bibles exist. I couldn't even estimate in the least the number of French translations that exist - for all I know, there could be three, or there could be 15. So I'd really appreciate some information and recommendations from some people who really know what French translations and Bibles are best.

Chris, I've got a REALLY good french translation at home, which is still in print, to the best of my knowledge. Unfortunately, I'm at work and I don't remember the name of the translation.

I studied French in College, too. I was one class short of having it be my minor. I've got one word of advice for you (which I'm sure you've already heard): PRACTICE!!!!! If you have the oppurtunity to travel to a french speaking country, DO IT! I have not practiced my French in over two years now (that's how long I've been out of school), and I remember next to nothing. It's really sad because I was nearly fluent at one point.

Having said all that, I will get the name of the translation and post it for you, but that may not happen until Monday, as I will be out of town this weekend.

Et, bon chance avec le francias! (I always felt wrong about saying "bon chance" and being a calvinist. But, in english: God bless your study of the French language!)

Chris,