Women Deacons as Husbands of One Wife

Status
Not open for further replies.

Miller

Puritan Board Freshman
In 1 Timothy 3:12 we're told that deacons should be the husband of one wife. How do female deacons fulfill this qualification?

As I'm studying the passage and the possibilities of women deacons this verse is never addressed. I'm probably missing something obvious.

They would probably say it's a requirement for the males specifically who are married, rejecting the idea that they can have multiple wives. They would probably say it's not a command to only have male deacons, because then all deacons would have to be married to one wife as well with that logic. I think that's what would be said. Just my two cents though.

Unless one means to argue that deacons must be married, then first one should recognize that this qualification is a "limiting factor." To put it generically (to dispense with it) a church office-bearer can have but one spouse at most. This is the clearest insistence of the text.

Now, in the second place, Paul does not appear to contemplate women either as elders or deacons. His terms for the officers are masculine, and I know of no evidence from anywhere in the Bible that they are ever applied (unambiguously) to any woman. His term as pertains to the spouse is not applicable to a woman's spouse (no woman has a "wife" in the Bible).

Third, to anticipate a specious objection: the patriarchal societies of Paul's world couldn't anticipate a time and place where one woman had multiple "husbands;" ergo, Paul cannot be expected to address this subject in the identical way when he contemplates a woman deacon. This would be an effort to deflect the force of the observation that where a parallel direction to a supposed "deaconess" might have been expected, it is missing.