Were Old Testament Saints Dead In Sin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jar1979

Puritan Board Freshman
I am new to the doctrines of grace and would greatly appreciate some Godly input. How do we understand the state of Old Testament saints? For example, the Psalmist writes, "With my whole heart I have sought thee" and "I will delight myself in thy commandments, which I have loved." (Psalm 119:10, 47) How is a totally depraved, dead man able to say this?

O.T. Saints were saved the same way we are: by grace through faith in the Redeemer. So when you read Psalm 119, you are reading the words of a redeemed saint, not of a depraved dead man.

Hi Mike,

Please forgive how foolish this may sound, but were they regenerated by the Holy Spirit? What differentiates them from New Testament believers?

Blessings

Welcome to the PuritanBoard, Mr. Davis! First, as a quick house-keeping item, please see the link in my signature to get your signature set up so that we can all know with whom we are speaking.

To your question -- it is not foolish at all. It is an essential aspect of Reformed theology that the believers in the Old Testament were regenerated or born again by the Spirit of God, even as we are: otherwise, they could not have faith, could not have a heart which desired to please God, could not exhibit love toward the saints nor delight in the law of God; they would not be able to receive the forgiveness of sins through faith, nor be persuaded or assured of God's favor and mercy. Thus, we confess: