We Ought To Sing The Psalms - Thread 2: Because They Cover Every Season and Experience Of Man

Status
Not open for further replies.
U

Username3000

My thanks to those who participated in my previous psalm thread; there were so many glorious truths laid down in a relatively short amount of time and space.

Another thing I would like your input on is a) how the psalter covers such a wide array of human experience, and b) why this makes it particularly suited for worship.

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
NB I am new to the use of the psalter in worship. I have worshipped in reformed churches for several decades, but none of them sang from a psalter. I only ‘discovered’ it about 5 years ago.
NBB Appolgies to you ladies reading this, the pronouns are from my perspective and are not meant to be exclusionary.

A) The Psalms cover nearly every aspect of life, using poetry, prose, even condemnations. King David and the other human writers were not shy about engaging with the Almighty in their specific life events, both as it was happening, and in reflection. Unlike so much of the non-inspired texts that deal with life, the Psalms are believers interactions with their creator, Lord, and King. So when reading or singing the Psalms I am engaging with God on the same issues as those men - (without the crown)
B) It is humbling to realize the nothing really has changed. Men of God have been contending with their own sin as well as that of others for a long time. And that gives me comfort - their God was on the throne then when they sang out to him, and he still is there to hear me sing. That continuity between God’s people of old and us is just a foretaste of the worship we will all partipate in together in eternity. I sometimes read the psalms in Hebrew to practice, just in case that’s what the heavenly Psalter is written in (I do hope it’s a book and not PowerPoint projections:)