View on the Lord's Day

Status
Not open for further replies.

Quatchu

Puritan Board Sophomore
Im relatively new to reformed theology compared to most people around here. One of the things that seems hard for me to understand is the idea of the Lord's Day, maybe its because i grew up in a non-christian home. Also my idea as to what are the views and ideas on this topic are very hazy. I have been trying to make heads and tails of it but still have not been able to organize my thoughts after hearing about this. Honestly up until the last few months my views in the Lords Day have been relatively loose, i have gone to church as its something i think any Christian would truly want to do, but I've also on occasion have seen no trouble in sleeping in or working as the need or desire arose. Although I see as going to church as the utmost importance and highly beneficial to the Christian I would not say when has to go to Church to be a Christian. I don't think this view is appropriate but neither have i really been able to formulate what a Christian should believe about the Lord's Day. So i ask for some help. If there are different views about this among reformed folk what are the different views. What are some good articles and resources to learning more.

Yes, there are different views among the reformed. One of the most common exceptions taken to the Westminster Standards is regarding the Christian Sabbath.

Jay Adams is one such Presbyterian minister who takes exception to the confessional view. Adams wrote the book Keeping the Sabbath Today?

Is anyone aware of any articles or short prices online for a short introduction?

If there are different views about this among reformed folk what are the different views.