Transcendental Argument - Kant vs Van Til

Status
Not open for further replies.

nwink

Puritan Board Sophomore
What is the difference in the way the transcendental argument was used by Kant vs the way it was used by Van Til? I was recently talking with a Reformed classical apologetics method guy who greatly disliked the transcendental argument because of the way it was used by Kant. (I think that's how he said it)

I have just been wondering this myself as listening through RC Sproul's series "The Consequences of Ideas" he mentions Kant's transcendental argument, but I don't know that they are the same or if Van Til was even influenced by Kant in this respect, I'm new to Pressupp and would like to know myself.

"Kant’s phenomenal realm is but an island, and that a floating island on a bottomless and shoreless sea. After all, the human mind can furnish at most a finite schematism or a priori. We do not admit that the human mind can furnish any a priori at all unless it is related to God. But suppose for a moment that it could, such a schematism could never be comprehensive."
-- Christian-Theistic Evidences (Phillipsburg, NJ: Presbyterian and Reformed Publishing Co., 1978), p. 37."

Kant and Van Til are different. For Van Til, the "unknown" is completely rational and other, while for Kant the "unknown" is irrational. It's certainly more complex than that, but it's a start. While there are some similarities, Van Til sees Kant as the most logically consistent atheist and when you see Van Til's circle diagrams the atheist one is based off Kant's brand of atheism.