Total Depravity

Status
Not open for further replies.

The Author of my Faith

Puritan Board Freshman
How would you give a simple, but thorough explanation to someone who asked you "Why did God make man with the ability to become totally depraved?".

Does the bible address the reason WHY God made man with the ability to sin? Is this one of the questions that really cannot be answered since it is trying to understand why God does what he does? Is this a "Who are you O man to answer back to God" kind of question?

Please keep it simple I am trying to answer a friend as best I can and though I am a student of the word I still am by no means a scholar.

How would you give a simple, but thorough explanation to someone who asked you "Why did God make man with the ability to become totally depraved?".

Does the bible address the reason WHY God made man with the ability to sin? Is this one of the questions that really cannot be answered since it is trying to understand why God does what he does? Is this a "Who are you O man to answer back to God" kind of question?

Please keep it simple I am trying to answer a friend as best I can and though I am a student of the word I still am by no means a scholar.

Ok, my :2cents:. God did not create us to sin since that would make Him evil. I believe He withheld His attribute of perfection from Adam and Eve. He made them innocent of any sin but not perfect. Perfection denotes accomplishing an act without flaw or in their case without sin. As soon as their temptation confronted them, they were without perfect ability to overcome the temptation and fell. So I don't think of sin as something created by God and added to mankind's nature just waiting to be preformed, but instead a lack of something in mankind's nature that being perfection. Hope that makes sense.