Theological education

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlienPilgrim

Inactive User
Hi. I'm a 17 year old Reformed Baptist with one more year of high school to complete and am seeking guidance concerning possible college and seminary training. I have a growing desire to become a youth pastor. This desire greatly intensified after reading a sermon preached by Rick Holland who is associate pastor for youth and college ministries at John MacArthur's church. The Next Generation Your counsel will be much appreciated!
~David

Hi! Though I graduated from Moody Bible Institute... I really think that Boyce College (affiliated with Southern Seminary) is an EXCELLENT choice. If I had to do college over again I would go there.
Check it out!

Get your bachelor's degree in something other than Biblical studies. If after getting a different degree you still have a desire to go into the ministry then proceed to seminary (but still make sure you use your electives to meet seminary requirements; i.e. philosophy, english, Greek if possible, etc.). You can still study theology in your free time. That way you will have a more confirmed calling and if for some reason the pastorate falls through you will have something to fall back on. Plus, many small churches cannot afford pastors so the pastor has to have a second job to make ends meet. Spurgeon said that you should try anything possible to avoid the ministry and if God wants you there then there's nothing that will keep you from it :) Just some advice. Take it or leave it.

Puritan Sailor

I second the advise above from Puritan Sailor!! I wish I had followed it!!

Get a "useful" degree in a field that offers a job with which you can support yourself and your future family. Then go to seminary.