The repentance of Judas - Matthew 27

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pergamum

Ordinary Guy (TM)
I am studying Matthew 27, where Judas "repents."

I want to explain simply to tribal peoples the difference between true and false repentance.

How would you do this?

Also, Pharaoh said, "I have sinned."—Exodus 9:27.

"And Pharaoh sent, and called for Moses and Aaron, and said unto them, I have sinned this time: the Lord is righteous, and I and my people are wicked."

I am sure some Puritans wrote about this, help point me to the places, links, sermons, that cover this.

My copy is out on loan, but I would start by reading Thomas Watson's Doctrine of Repentance.

The simplest example of true versus false repentance is what I teach my daughters. There is one kind of repentance that is sad you got caught, sad you have live with the consequences of your sin. There is another repentance which is sorry that you have wronged somebody else - and in particular, you have grieved God, scorned his law, despised the atoning work of his Son, and joined Satan's mutiny against creation.

When one of my daughters hurts another and the first words out are "I didn't mean to" ... that is false repentance. When the first words out are "What have I done?!? Are you OK? What can I do?" ... that is real repentance.

2 Corinthians 7:2-11 might be worth studying in this regard (particularly verse 10: "For godly grief produces a repentance that leads to salvation without regret, whereas worldly grief produces death.") :2cents:

Neil H. Williams writes about Judas' false repentance in World Harvest Mission's Gospel Transformation curriculum (now, sadly, out of print). He draws, I'm quite sure, on Watson for his definition of true repentance. Williams says:

Judas was truly sorry, but there are two kinds of sorrow. The issue is not whether we are sorry, but what kind of sorrow we have (read 2 Cor. 7:9-10).