The phrase "covenant of works" isn't in the Bible

Status
Not open for further replies.

blhowes

Puritan Board Professor
Without trying to explain all the details of covenant theology I will simply say that it has many problems:

- It begins by assuming two (or three) covenants that are never mentioned in Scripture...
This is a quote from a web site that speaks against covenant theology (and this would apply to reformed baptist theology as well) in favor of dispensationalism. I just quote this one sentence because I think its a typical mindset that I'd like to get feedback on, specifically regarding the covenant of works (since that's what I'm studying now).

If somebody were to make this statement to anybody on this board, I'd imagine the first comment might be something like, "Yes, but neither does the Bible mention the word trinity, yet you believe it." After that, if you were talking to a person about the covenant of works and looking at the Genesis account, what questions or observations would you make about the passage to help them (and me) see (or at least entertain the possibility) that God did indeed make a covenant of works with Adam, even though it doesn't specifically mention those exact words? How do you get them to see past the fact that the words aren't mentioned so that they can search deeper into the scriptures for the doctrine? And, if somebody doesn't believe in the covenant of works, what ramifications does that have regarding other beliefs?

Actually, I would agree with them. The CoW is not in the Bible. Furthermore, I don't agree that it's biblical.

Hey, where's the little smiley face that's ducking flying objects?

Anyway, I'll be interested to see what kind of responses you get.

Bob,

I would ask them how what Adam was to do, related to what Christ was to do. Romans 5 makes it clear that the Second Adam did what the first could not. So if there was no aspect of works to be done by Adam, then how are we saved by Christ?