The Benefits of Bible Notes

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Deleted member 10797

I have been writing notes in my Bible for well over 7 years. I believe there are great benefits to writing in your Bible. I have two main Bibles. A wide margin Cambridge in the KJV and the Thompson Chain-Reference Bible in the NASB by Zondervan. I write in both Bibles and use them daily for personal reading and devotional time alone with God. In this short blog post, I will give you my view on the importance of writing in your Bible. Some Christian people hold the view that it is not right to write in your Bible. I disagree with that position; we worship the God of the Word and love His Word. We must not worship the book, but the Word alone. There is nothing “holy” about the pages and ink of the Bible. God has given us His Word to learn from and to love. Those who feel uncomfortable about writing in the Bible may want to get a good notebook and write in that instead.

I started this post by stating that I have been writing in my Bible for over 5 years. In fact, I started writing in my Cambridge wide margin on June 22nd, 2021, on the same day I brought the Bible from the Cambridge University Press Bookshop when I visited Cambridge and in my Thompson Chain-Reference in March 2023. My original Bible that I started taking notes in was lost in 2020. That Bible was used almost every day for over 7 years and when I carelessly lost on a train journey I was very upset as that Bible had hundreds of notes and a prayer diary. I am telling you this because it is looking back now, I think it would have been a good idea to have a back-up such as one Bible for carrying around with you and one for home use only.

Here are four reasons why I write in my Bible.

1. A personal reflection on the text.