Teaching Calvinism, how often?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spinningplates2

Puritan Board Freshman
How ofter does your Church teach about Calvinism? My kids are in high school and college and have never heard a series on TULIP. (except from me)

Last edited:
I agree with Rev Morecraft III that you don't need to teach Calvinism from the pulpit. Just teach the Bible honestly and you shall teach Calvinism.

I really do not feel an especial need to teach a series of messages on salvation that runs through 5-Points. I don't like topical series much anyway. The only topical series of any kind I've done in the four years I've been ordained I really didn't enjoy.

But the doctrines which the TULIP declare are woven through all the Bible's teaching of salvation. Last Sunday, I preached on Phil.3:12-16 which is a passage that treats largely of Perseverance of the Saints.

I'm fairly new to my church but I haven't heard any series specifically on Calvinism. However, I do find topical series on TULIP helpful so that it's easy to have sermon audio files all on the doctrines of grace and that flow from one to the other. Art Azurdia's TULIP series was a great blessing to me, for example.

How ofter does your Church teach about Calvinism? Mu kids are in high school and college and have never heard a series on TULIP. (except from me)
I would say this ranks as one of the top misconceptions I hear from people when they learn I attend a Calvinist church. They assume that all our ministers and teachers ever teach is (a) something related to TULIP or (b) something by the pen of Calvin every Sunday.

Heh, I recall a church I used to go to that had a class against Calvinism. Come to think of it, it really wasn't for anything in particular.