Sunday School Suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zenas

Snow Miser
Hi, this is my first post here at the PB so let me start by introducing myself.

My name is Andrew. I am 22 years old and I am studying to be an attorney. I also am a deacon in the ARP and I teach Sunday School to middle school to high school aged children, which is where this topic stems from.

I'm looking for suggestions from other teachers as to how to conduct my Sunday School class. I would like to improve it and attempt to grab the kid's attention more. The subject material is not the problem, it's given to me by the session, but I was wondering if anyone had any pointers on how to conduct class. My favorite topic is apologetics and I always find some way to include something apologetics related into my lesson even if I don't intend to, but the kids don't seem interested at all in this or much of anything else. I'm unsure if it's me and the way I go about things, or simply because they are kids and don't care about theology anyway. I have a feeling it's a mixture of both and I would like to attempt to iron out my end of the equation as much as I, being a man, can.

Any help is appreciated.

One of the things that i do is start off with a fun game or something that will get the kids active, and get them to think about the topic that i will teach on.

So when i did a lesson on needing the Holy Spirit to help guide our prayers, i started with a game where one kid was blindfolded...they had to make their way through a room that was set up like an obstacle course...they would be guided by their classmates as far as telling them where to go.

Then, when we taught on the subject, they had a better idea of what it meant from that practical application.