Summer Reading Lists

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookslover

Puritan Board Doctor
This summer, my main reading project is Winston Churchill's 4 volumes of memoirs of World War I and his 4 volumes of memoirs of World War II (for the latter series, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature for 1953). This is on top of our men's fellowship book, The Theology of B. B. Warfield by Fred Zaspel, which we're already about 200 pages into. Hopefully, I'll get most of this reading done!

Anyone else have their summer reading plans lined up?

I'm planning on spending most of my summer reading trying to sort out the different Reformed political theologies, or at least political frameworks that a Reformed believer has confessional room to consider. I studied some political theology at Covenant, but a lot has been written since 2007! Stop writing so much so I can catch up!

So far my list is as follows:

The Desire of the Nations: Rediscovering the Roots of Political Theology by Oliver O'Donovon
Politics and the Order of Love: An Augustinian Ethic of Democratic Citizenship by Eric Gregory
The Republic of Grace: Augustinian Thoughts for Dark Times by Charles Mathewes (maybe also his Theology of Public Life)
Church, State and Public Justice: Five Views edited by Kemeny
God and Politics: Four Views by Gary Scott Smith
Living in God's Two Kingdoms by David Van Drunen
Christianity and Contemporary Politics by Luke Bretherton
Migrations of the Holy by William Cavanaugh
War and the American Difference by Stanley Hauerwas
To Change the World by James Davidson Hunter
Against Christianity by Peter Leithart
The Kuyper Center Review, vol 1: New Essays in Reformed Theology and Public Life by Gordan Graham

With three small children I have limited spare time. But aside from my quite intensive Bible-reading plan I am planning on reading The Politics by Aristotle

A whole pile of stuff about web site writing, on line newsletters, SOE and web analytics. Boring, boring, boring.