suggest some good books

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ajay

Puritan Board Freshman
Hi,
i am new to reformed theology,

suggest some good and easy readable books on the topics like Predestination, effectual calling and also

Total Depravity
Unconditional Election
Limited Atonement
Irresistible Grace
Perseverance of the Saints

Thomas Watson's A Body of Divinity is excellent and will help you to see good reformed theology in the context of holy, Godward living.

For a more focused study, Loraine Boettner's The Reformed Doctrine of Predestination was very helpful for me.

Most importantly, read Scripture voraciously, asking in every passage "What does this say about the nature and character of God?" The importance of this cannot be overstated.

Grace to you.

Sovereignty of God by A. W. Pink

Edit: If you buy it and want what Pink wrote, do not get the Banner of Truth version.

Last edited:
Sovereignty of God by A. W. Pink
I will second that. There is a free electronic version The Sovereignty Of God. And the least expensive hardcopy version is by Watchmaker Publishing.

Another good book by Pink is The Attributes Of God. Some of the chapters directly relate to the reformed doctrines you are asking about. And the other chapters simply tell about God in ways we may have not thought about before.

FYI: [URL="http://www.chapellibrary.org]Chapel Library[/URL] will send you each of those Pink books in paperback at no charge.

Anything by Reverend D. Martyn Lloyd-Jones, but particularly Studies In The Sermon On The Mount. The 3 volume Great Doctrines Of the Bible, is now out in a one volume edition, or either of these are available on epub, or kindle/mobi.