Seminary advice for those who want to stay in academia?

Status
Not open for further replies.

habeoChristum

Inactive User
I graduated recently from college and am on staff with a campus ministry. My interest is in studying the relationships of Christianity, church and culture. I want to go to a seminary first (probably for an M. Div) and then go on for a Ph.D. at a top tier secular graduate school or seminary (i.e. Princeton, Yale, etc). So my question is, where should I go to seminary now? I'm looking for:

1. Generally faithful to God's word and the reformed tradition, though I don't mind some challenging beliefs.
2. Good in training for academia and research (most seminaries seem to be completely focused on training pastors and missionaries).
3. A good enough reputation that I could go to on a to top tier graduate school.

Suggestions?

I would recommend Gordon-Conwell for your situation, and ask for David Wells to be your advisor/mentor. He's written his quadrilogy on the relationship of contemporary evangelicalism, ecclesiology & culture.

I would recommend Gordon-Conwell for your situation, and ask for David Wells to be your advisor/mentor. He's written his quadrilogy on the relationship of contemporary evangelicalism, ecclesiology & culture.

This is a good suggestion. Westminster California has also produced some academics.

I echo the commendations of Gordon-Conwell and Westminster California. Fuller is much less conservative but enjoys a good rep for getting their grads into top tier schools (cf. grads include Piper, Riddlebarger, Volf as well as Rob Bell and Rick Warren!). Given the proximity to east coast schools, GC may be your best bet.

I would not go to seminary for an MDiv, but rather go to graduate school for an M.A. M.Div's are for pastoral work; M.A.'s are for PhD work.

I say this as someone who was in a PhD program in a top 10 school (U. of Chicago) in my field (Classics), active in the church (as an RE) and a seminary graduate (RTS Jackson).