Self-Excommunication from the Lord's Supper

Status
Not open for further replies.

Parakaleo

Puritan Board Sophomore
I'm trying to understand Federal Vision sacramentology. I have heard that some proponents of FV theology do not believe in fencing the table beyond baptism. In fact, I have heard language used to the effect of, "I don't have the authority to excommunicate myself from the Lord's Table." Has anyone else heard these arguments spelled out more clearly? When did the Reformers see it appropriate for the believer to refrain from partaking?

I am not an expert on this, but I read somewhere that some Scottish Congregations fenced the table to prevent some of the local businessmen in the congregation (who were keeping mistresses) from attending the Lords Supper. There's a lot more to it than just that, and there are also some excellent threads on PB.

(This is in reply to your second question on when the reformers fenced the table)

Calvin: