Sacraments as a means of salvation

Status
Not open for further replies.

retroGRAD3

Puritan Board Senior
Hey all, I am hoping for some clarification here. I am still fairly new to reformed theology and am still trying to learn the details of some of the particulars. The question relates to the Westminster Larger Catechism.

Q. 161. How do the Sacraments become effectual means of salvation?
A. The Sacraments become effectual means of salvation, not by any power in themselves, or any virtue derived from the piety or intention of him by whom they are administered; but only by the working of the Holy Ghost, and the blessing of Christ by whom they are instituted

To start, I would mention that I am baptised and I do take the Lord's supper at my church on a monthly basis. However, if this was not the case, is what this is saying is salvation is not possible, as in you cannot be saved?

Are you able to explain that a bit more practically (if that's possible)? Or, point me to a source that expounds on them a bit more? Sorry, for my ignorance, my background is in a mega church where not much attention was paid to the sacraments/ordinances.

Sacraments are signs. They point (like a sign) to the reality. For the believing, they are also seals. The seal or stamp God's promise onto us.

I also got hung up on the sacraments as effectual. If you read the chapters and questions on baptism, the Lord's Supper, and saving faith you will see the writers were not espousing that the sacraments save us. I think what they are pointing out here is that due to the Holy Spirit working in us, the Lord's Supper and Baptism are not just physical, they have spiritual meaning as well. That would be differentiating from Zwingli's view of the Lord's Supper. I would recommend reading WCF chapters 11, 13, 14, 27, 28, 29 and Calvin on the sacraments.