RPW & Reformers

Status
Not open for further replies.

natewood3

Puritan Board Freshman
I am somewhat new to this subject, although I have been reading some material on it lately. I listened to R. Scott Clark's messages on "Recovering the Reformed Confessions," and he spoke of the regulative principle quite a bit. I think that I am fairly close to being convinced that the RPW is biblical, but I am still trying to get a grasp on the issues that surround it. I have been reading chapters of Give Praise to God: A Vision for Reforming Worship. I have read most of it so far, but it has brought up a few questions that I honestly would like to have answered.

Dr. Clark, I would love to see your responses and interactions with this if you have time and see that you can clarify or correct me on these issues (since you are the one who brought all this up in the first place!).

I understand the RPW to mean that we should not practice anything in worship that is not commanded by Scripture, or anything not commanded by Scripture is forbidden.

The chapter by Nick Needham was on "Worship through the Ages." In this chapter, he described the liturgies of different traditions throughout church history. Since Calvin and the Reformed tradition practiced the RPW, I was curious to see what their liturgies included. Something Calvin included, as well as other churches in the Reformed tradition, was the singing or reciting of the Apostles' Creed. How does one reconcile this practice with the RPW? I can understand Luther having this to be a part of his liturgy. However, Needham contends that both Zwingli (AC was recited antiphonally) and Calvin (AC sang by congregation) had the Apostles' Creed as part of their liturgy. Calvin made it a part of both the Strasbourg service and Geneva service, according to Needham. I do not in anyway how one can practice this if you hold to the RPW. Am I misunderstanding the RPW or are the reformers inconsistent on this issue?