Rome says Mary can be a bridge between Catholics and Protestants, I say NO!

Status
Not open for further replies.

dudley

Puritan Board Post-Graduate
I have not been on the Puritan Board for a while because I am busy with several Protestant sites on facebook where I am also an administrator of 4 of them. I placed this post on my own fb page and also Reformation500 and several other Protestant sites on facebook and I wish to share it here also on the Puritan Board. I said......
Monday December 8th Roman Catholics and the Roman Catholic Church celebrate what they call the feast of the Immaculate Conception. Many Catholics as well as many Protestants misunderstand the RC doctrine of The Immaculate Conception. Many think that it is the celebration of the conception of Jesus in the womb of Mary, the earthly Mother of Christ.
That is not at the case. The Roman Catholic doctrine of the Immaculate Conception is “The Most Blessed Virgin Mary was, from the first moment of her conception, by a singular grace and privilege of almighty God and by virtue of the merits of Jesus Christ, Savior of the human race, preserved immune from all stain of original sin.”
Pope Pius IX, declared this to be a matter of faith and all Roman Catholics are obliged to receive it as a doctrine of their Christian beliefs teaching in his declaration “Ineffabilis Deus -1854” According to the RC doctrine of the Immaculate Conception, Mary was born without the stain of original sin. Both Catholics and Orthodox accept this doctrine, but only the Roman Catholic Church has solemnly defined the teaching, and the title "Immaculate Conception" is generally used only by Roman Catholics. Almost all Protestants reject the idea as having no foundation in Scripture.