Retired and Tired

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Roger D Duke, Nov 23, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Roger D Duke

Roger D Duke Puritan Board Freshman

Hello all:

One brother here has already told me that it took me a long for me to finish my registration here. But I am easily distracted, LOL!.

I was called to preach at the age of 30. I had one daughter 3 and one on the way. I was a Journeyman Pipefitter/Welder by trade and had never even taken the college entrance exams. I ended up doing five degrees in my 30s and 40s into my 50s with four of them being theological degrees. I was a "calminian" until I came to Mid America Baptist Theological Seminary.

Then I came under the tutelage of Dr. Jimmy Millikin and Dr. Tom J. Nettles and became a full blown Five Pointer. I went on to do my doctorate at The University of the South-Sewanee and picked up my MDiv along the way at The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary after Dr. Al Mohler became president.

I was the Religion and Communications professor for the Baptist College of Health Sciences in Memphis for 18 years. Actually I have been in the higher education classroom for 20+ years. I have also been blest to teach Ethics on the master's level for Union University and Spiritual Formation at Memphis Theological Seminary. I retired in 2016 to pursue a preaching, teaching, researching, and writing career. To further those goals I formed the Duke Consulting Group.

It has pleased the Lord to allow me to write about John Bunyan, William Carey, John Albert Broadus, suffering that ministers endure, et al. Some of my works can be seen at my Amazon Author's page here: https://www.amazon.com/-/e/B0034NNVG0 I have three works I hope to publish soon; one to Kindle, one is under contract to come out next year, and one I am seeking a publisher. I also am Scholar-In-Residence for Stage and Story. See: https://www.stageandstory.org/ I am writing a periodical blog on Bunyan's Characters.