Reformed Theological Seminary - Charlotte Campus

Status
Not open for further replies.

panicbird

Puritan Board Freshman
What do you know about the Charlotte campus? From what I understand, each of the RTS campuses (campii?) has a different "flavor." My understanding, unfortunately, does not go much deeper than that.

What is the school like? What are some major advantages and disadvantages? What things stand out?

I am living and ministering in North Carolina and am looking for a place to finish my seminary education.

Help!

Lon

I'm a student at the Charlotte campus and live in Atlanta. Charlotte has really tailored their program to fit commuter students. Their whole premise seems to be to make a seminary education as attainable as possible for fulltime pastors and other working stiffs.

You can contact Rod Culbertson (Director of Student Development) [email protected]. He is very helpful. You might also want to stop by if you can, they have a great library and bookstore.

My impression of RTS Charlotte is that it is the least "emphatic" of the campuses. Whereas both Jackson and Orlando have a definite "feel" and "perspective," Charlotte is more middle of the road. For the most part, students and Jackson would not go to Orlando and I think vice versa. But I think students at both campuses would be comfortable at Charlotte.

Does that make sense?

Thanks Fred and David. Let me ask this: would a Baptist be welcomed and feel comfortable at Charlotte? I know that is subjective and depends quite a bit upon me, but answer it as best as you can.

Fred, when you say "middle of the road," what do you mean by that? Moderate theologically? Or, between Orlando and Jackson? If the latter, please explain the different perspectives of Orlando and Jackson so that I might know where the middle is between them.

Again, thanks.

Lon

There are Baptists in my classes, so I assume they feel comfortable. They probably squirm a bit when we talk about baptism.