Question for KJV Prefered Folks

Status
Not open for further replies.

Prufrock

Arbitrary Moderation
Since it seems topics move in trends on here, I thought I'd ask a question to keep up the Bible Translation trend of the last day or two.

Please, only people who truly have a KJ preferred position (or can answer for it) respond. (Also, if it isn't too much to ask, please don't let this turn into a debate about the KJV being the best or not...) I simply want an explanation of some things from people more knowledgeable than myself, so as to save much reading time. I have had little experience with educated KJ advocation until coming to the PB, and would like to benefit from your judgments.

1.) From what I've gathered here so far, the KJ preferred position stems mostly from its witness to the providentially preserved text of the Greek New Testament. Is this an accurate statement, or have I missed the true underlying reason?

2.) As an honest question, can someone explain the preference of these texts over those of, for example, the Geneva Bible?

3.) Again, provided the accuracy of #1, How does the KJ relate to the Reformation-era translations in other languages, such as Luther's German bible?

4.) Finally, provided a literal translation of scripture were made from a reconstructed Greek text upon which the KJV was based, simply making slight alterations where the last 400 years of knowledge suggest slightly different phrasing or word order or grammatical construction -- is there any theological position which would still give the KJ precedence?

I realize that is a large list of questions, but if people can answer some/all of them so I could better understand the position, I would greatly appreciate it.