Question about Auburnism and Rushdoony

Status
Not open for further replies.

ConfederateTheocrat

Puritan Board Freshman
Was R. J. Rushdoony a proponant of Auburn Avenue theology? I must admit, I do not know much about it except it has caused a civil war within Presbyterian circles. I know there is/was a debate between Doug Wilson and James White on the subject.

I am theonomic, but I don't like to stray from classical Reformed theology. It appears to me that Wilson/Wright/Wilkins are reinventing many Reformed doctrines. What was Rushdoony's position? I have seen him call the covenant of works an invention of Phariseeical Christians, and is that Auburnism?

Somebody has got to know. :banghead:

Rushdoony did most of his work before Auburnism came on the scene. Now, Chalcedon is sympathetic to "Auburnism." Bear in mind that many theonomists are militant opponents of "Auburnism."

I am new to much of this also.

I have not studied the Auburn controversy hardly at all For what it's worth. I just picked up Rushdoony's 2 vol. Systematic Theology and in it Rushdoony clearly rejects the covenant or works. He calls it a gracious covenant as well. It looked to be the same language that I've seen Wilson use. But wasn't this the position of John Murray? I'll have to reread it. If someone wants me to I could post selections this weekend.

Chris For what it's worth, I think you will find that Murray rejects using the term "covenant" to describe the relationship of Adam to God, instead calling it the "Adamic Administration," but all the substance of the COW is there in Murray. There are several other notable Reformed people who take a position similar to Murray (embrace the substance, quibble over terminology) but that is very different then the FV/Auburnists who reject both the substance and the terminology.

Regarding Rushdoony, there are Theonomists on both sides of the Auburnism/FV controversy, so that alone is no indicator of which side he would support.