• Buy Something Else

Votes: 11 28.9%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Backwoods Presbyterian

Puritanboard Amanuensis
PB Brothers and Sisters,

I have been given a gift of $125.00 by a Grandparent (who just remembered I graduated from seminary ;)) and I would like to purchase a complete works of a Puritan writer with it. I currently do not have any volumes of any of them so it is a clean slate. So help me decide which one to buy.

Blessings and Thanks as always!

I think Ferguson and Packer would say..... Rev. John Owen.

Er... not with only $125!

If you've got $125, and you're only going to use that (with no additional money of your own) I would recommend John Flavel, Richard Sibbes, or Thomas Brooks. Both are excellent guy, deep in the Scriptures, helpful in their sermons (not only for content, but for examples in preaching), pastoral in their aim, and guys you "feel" more than other Puritans.

Hope that helps!
~Jacob

PS - However, if you can add your own money to get Owen, do it!

If you want something highly thoughtful and devotional, go with the works of David Clarkson. There are a million blessings in those three volumes.

Beyond that, I'd go for the works of Manton, Thomas Goodwin, and then John Owen. John Owen has no equal but slugging through the volumes can be real tough.

I voted for something else.
I bought a number of sets a few years ago and hardly cracked them, so they're on my "to eBay" list. Everything but John Owen.

For $125, maybe you should buy a few of mine :lol:

Last edited:
Philip may have a good idea--like exercise machines, Puritan sets can often be found virtually unused, with just a few miles on them. Buying used would stretch your dollars a bit further. The only caveat would be that this is gift money, and you may have to take that into account. The grandparent might expect to see new on the shelf.

I voted for Flavel--you'd get excellent content that will hold up to multiple re-readings.