Ps 72 translation -- need Hebrew help

Status
Not open for further replies.

nwink

Puritan Board Sophomore
In Psalm 72:8, why does the KJV translate "He shall" (seems to express certainty)...where the ESV translates it "May he" (seems to express a hope/desire/prayer)? This occurs throughout the psalm. (I have no knowledge of Hebrew) Is one translation more accurate than the other in this verse?

KJV: "He shall have dominion also from sea to sea, and from the river unto the ends of the earth."

ESV: "May he have dominion from sea to sea, and from the River to the ends of the earth!"

:popcorn:

Same with a comparison between the KJV and NIV. "May" creeps into the NIV from verse 15 to 17, and a general note of uncertainty or possibility rather than certainty. What is the answer from the the Hebrew?

And he shall live, and to him shall be given of the gold of Sheba: prayer also shall be made for him continually; and daily shall he be praised. (v15,KJV)

Long may he live! May gold from Sheba be given him. May people ever pray for him and bless him all day long. (v15, NIV)

There shall be an handful of corn in the earth upon the top of the mountains; the fruit thereof shall shake like Lebanon: and they of the city shall flourish like grass of the earth. (v16, KJV)

Let grain abound throughout the land; on the tops of the hills may it sway. Let its fruit flourish like Lebanon; let it thrive like the grass of the field. (v16, NIV)

His name shall endure for ever: his name shall be continued as long as the sun: and men shall be blessed in him: all nations shall call him blessed. (v17,KJV)

May his name endure forever; may it continue as long as the sun. All nations will be blessed through him, and they will call him blessed. (v17, NIV)

The NIV for v8 is positive, though
He will rule from sea to sea and from the River to the ends of the earth.

But it has this footnote to v2
(72:2) Or May he; similarly in verses 3-11 and 17

Verse 2 is: