POLL: Did Solomon Write Ecclesiastes? Why or Why Not

Did Solomon Write the Book of Ecclesiastes?

• Yes, and here is why...

Votes: 41 77.4%
  • No, that is so 16-17th century. Here's why he did not...

Votes: 1 1.9%
  • Since the book does not name Solomon... it does not matter.

Votes: 11 20.8%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
The author identifies himself as a King of Jerusalem and Son of David.

Keeping in mind the genre and assigned titles, we cannot use that identity for Solomon alone, according to Estelle of Westminster Seminary of California. Also one needs to consider the post-exile style it was written in. Personally, I don’t have an opinion since I am no expert in Hebrew or literary styles to judge that it’s a post-exile piece. But the use of the title, even if the author did not hold it, for literary effect was common.

What, pray tell, do you think?

Michael, I think that Solomon would use SermonJams.... :lol:

Seriously though, I do think that Solomon wrote the book. The first verse would be a lie not a literary device if it was not him. There is also 2.18; 12:9; and other texts that seem to point to Sol. Psalm 127, which belongs to Solomon looks a bit familiar in the light of Qohleth's book as well.

I am quite surprised by the number of conservative, reformed scholars that deny Solomon's writing it.

New sermon series on Ecclesiastes starts this Lord's Day. Here's an ad for the preaching.

Did Solomon write Ecclesiastes before, during or after his backsliding, and how old would he have been?