PCA—15 years from now?

Status
Not open for further replies.

scotthill

Puritan Board Freshman
Good evening,

I hope the holiday season is treating everyone well. Additionally, please move this to the proper board if it’s not meant to be in “General Discussions.”

My question today is about the PCA.
Where do you guys (and girls) think the PCA will be 15 years from now? As far as I can tell, there seems to be a liberal shift taking place. It’s probably one of the causes of the new Vanguard Presbytery as well.
Anywho, do you think the PCA will be alive and well in 15 years? Will it still have a decent amount of Conservative members? Is it a dying denomination? Is it worth seeking ordination in the next few years (I’m a student at WTS and am hoping to be seeking ordination in the PCA or OPC within the next few years.)
What are ya’ll’s thoughts on the denomination?

If we pray for the PCA and ask the Spirit to work mightily among its churches, and He comes, it has its best years ahead.

do you think the PCA will be alive and well in 15 years?
Fears that the denomination will split or apostatize shouldn't drive your current decisions.

What you should do is pray and go where the Lord calls you. (As a side note, you are probably unlikely to be at your first call 15 years after your ordination, anyway). Faithfully shepherd and lead your congregation, whether that means retaining denominational affiliations or leading them out at the proper time.

I'm not optimistic about that. The denomination is clearly on the wrong trajectory.
As an encouragement, so was the RPCNA and the ARP. But I think the best days for both denominations, as it were, lie ahead.

As to the original post, I would simply encourage you to heed well the counsel of your elders and also your own ecclesiological convictions (e.g. 2- or 3-office, your view on confessional subscription, etc).

I'm not optimistic about that. The denomination is clearly on the wrong trajectory.