paedobaptism & covenants

Status
Not open for further replies.

soakland

Puritan Board Freshman
Hello -

I've just begun studying the issue of paedobaptism and wanted to ask if someone can confirm some of the elements of the covenants. Please forgive me if these seem foolish but I am just beginning the study:

1 - Am I correct that in covenant theology, the over-arching covenant of grace which includes Abraham and continues into the NT? Those in this covenant consist of saved individuals in all ages.

2 - Also, the old covenant of Moses and the new covenant in Christ are two covenants that both include saved and unsaved.

3 - This explains He. 10 as well as the warning passages contained in Hebrews..

4 - The sign of circumcision Abraham received after faith, and his son received it prior to faith. Correspondingly, baptism occurs AFTER someone possesses faith, and their children receive the covenant sign of baptism BEFORE faith. Am I correct that they are both in the covenant of grace and the corresponding Old & New Covenant?

I know I must have at least some of this wrong, so please correct me accordingly. I realize this is just a sketchy-sketch.

Also, can any of you recommend the best books on the subject?

Thanks for any help,
Scott

Hello -

I've just begun studying the issue of paedobaptism and wanted to ask if someone can confirm some of the elements of the covenants. Please forgive me if these seem foolish but I am just beginning the study:

1 - Am I correct that in covenant theology, the over-arching covenant of grace which includes Abraham and continues into the NT? Those in this covenant consist of saved individuals in all ages.

2 - Also, the old covenant of Moses and the new covenant in Christ are two covenants that both include saved and unsaved.