On an Elder's Ability to Ban Church Members

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwallard

Puritan Board Freshman
Brothers and sisters in Christ,

I am currently studying this issue, and I would be greatly blessed by your help.

The question is on whether or not an elder may ban one of the members of his or any other flock from the church body. I am defining banning as "a public declaration by a session to effect a sustained removal of a person (whether a member of that local church or no) from the church building’s premises with or without conditions for reconciliation, and without the courts of the church or the state courts or powers involved." I am distinguishing this from excommunication, because excommunication is a declaration that the person excommunicated is no longer a part of the body of Christ. Banning also differs in that excommunication does not - as far as I know - bar an individual from coming to the church premises, but is a Spiritual use of the keys that the person excommunicated might be brought back into familial and sacramental communion.

This seems to deal with many areas and levels of ecclesiology, and I would love some help in answering this question and help in finding resources, which seem to be scant. I can only find this type of banning present in regular practice in the Anabaptists (see "A Calvinist and Anabaptist Understanding of the Ban" by Matthew Harding). Would any of you know of a resource which is polemical against Anabaptist ecclesiology, or dealt with these types of issues? Have you dealt with such a case before, and what were your findings or actions?

Love to you, beloved brothers and sisters in Christ,
-G

Hi G, please fix your signature per the rules following the instructions at the link at the base of the page.:judge:

Brothers and sisters in Christ,

I am currently studying this issue, and I would be greatly blessed by your help.