NIV vs. KJV on John 1:13

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tim

Puritan Board Graduate
The scripture reading this past Lord's Day was from John 1. My ears perked up when they got to John 1:13 (NIV) because I heard a word I had not associated with that passage.

...children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband's will, but born of God. (NIV)

...Which were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God. (KJV)

The Greek word there is andros, which is a form of aner which means man/male, rather than mankind (anthropos). The KJV, NKJV, MKJV, ASV, NASB, ESV, and Geneva all use "man". Does this alternative translation change the sense of the reading?

I am a beginner at translation and exegesis. Perhaps this is a good place to learn something.

Would anyone care to walk me through this?

That's interesting. I never noticed it. ἄνηρ can mean "man" or, in specific contexts, "husband." Many languages do this, i.e. simply use the words for man and woman to mean husband and wife. I have no idea why the NIV translates it here as husband, though.

Good question!

That's interesting. I never noticed it. ἄνηρ can mean "man" or, in specific contexts, "husband." Many languages do this, i.e. simply use the words for man and woman to mean husband and wife. I have no idea why the NIV translates it here as husband, though.

Good question!

How did you get the Greek text/font to post here? Did you just copy and paste from one of your computer Greek texts?

-----Added 12/15/2008 at 09:00:54 EST-----

ανδρος

Oh, it is that simple!

-----Added 12/15/2008 at 09:02:23 EST-----

אדם

And here is "man" or "Adam" in Hebrew!

Last edited:

Good question!

How did you get the Greek text/font to post here? Did you just copy and paste from one of your computer Greek texts?