Nativity scenes violation of second command?

Status
Not open for further replies.

shackleton

Puritan Board Junior
I already know what people are going to say but I figured I would ask since there are so many arguments going on, played out in the media, about the removal of them from certain venues.

On another note, since I have found out about this whole thing regarding the second command I been noticing all the depictions of Jesus that there are out there. I am a firefighter and go into a lot of peoples homes. I work in a heavy Catholic area, there is a church a block away from my station with a 30ft tall statue of Jesus with a crown and holding two fingers up like a "peace" symbol but with his fingers together. Almost everyone has pictures, or statues, of Jesus or Mary or some saint in there house. The really dedicated ones have statues, along with a shrine in there front yards of Mary.

These are the Catholics, the black people all have pictures of Jesus, the apostles, Moses and most of the OT figures depicted as black people.

I already know what people are going to say but I figured I would ask since there are so many arguments going on, played out in the media, about the removal of them from certain venues.

Secular Humanists want nativity scenes removed because it violates their pluralist principles. This makes it tempting for evangelical Protestants to side with those who wish to retain them, but the bottom line is that they are a violation of the second commandment. Consequently, we need to stay out of these disputes. It is not a battle we need to get involved in.

I would view then as a violation as well. Of course I'm probably a little slanted about this since I'm not a big fan of the Christ-mass to begin with but thats another discussion altogether. ;)